Making Sense of It All

Fun fact: according to an article published by CBS News in 2006, we as human beings have gone from being exposed to roughly 500 ads per day in the 1970’s, to about 5,000 ads per day today. Upon reading this, my initial thoughts were, “wait, what? How is that even possible? Why is that even possible?” When you think about it, however, it makes complete sense. With all the advancements in technology, companies have been able to reach their audiences like never before. Think about it, humans literally spend hours upon hours listening to the radio, watching T.V., or interacting with others on social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, YouTube, etc. So how does one makes sense of all this information we’re constantly being bombarded with. In my graphic design class I took a while ago, I remember my professor talking about how our minds don’t know any different. In other words, since we’ve been exposed to thousands of ads since birth, our brains have become conditioned to block out the thousands of ads that don’t interest us, and focuses in on the ones that do. How cool is that? (I’m pretty excited about all this, to say the least). In terms of me and how this project is going thus far, on the other hand, I can honestly say that I’m trying to make sense of it all as well! After digging around on the internet, looking through my graphic design textbook, and even going to an encyclopedia (yes, an encyclopedia!) to find out more about my topic, I don’t know where to start, as there’s simply so much information. What I think I’ll do, however, is make a list of the specifics on what I want to learn, such as what graphic design/advertising really is, what the components to a good ad are, and the effects they have on the mind. Moreover, it would be interesting to learn about the effects on a child’s mind and how it processes such information. So here’s to making sense of it all!

2 comments

  1. tessgorsuch · January 31, 2016

    Joshua, you have very good ideas of what you might want to do for your learning project. I know it can be challenging to narrow it down sometimes. Making sense of it all will be fun to explore though and I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

    • joshuapilkington · February 1, 2016

      Tessa, thanks! It’ll definitely be hard narrowing things down, but it’ll be fun nonetheless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

