An Update in Design

“What is it about this that makes it so eye-catching?” This is just one of the questions I’ve been asking myself when looking at different forms of advertising. The main thing I’ve done this week is actually stopping, analyzing, and interpreting these ads, commercials, or signage. Like I said in my previous update, we’re exposed to approximately 5,000 ads per day, and most of the time our brain doesn’t process these, as it’s just too much information to take in. When I’ve stopped and really looked at these various forms of advertising, however, I’ve been able to identify what makes it pleasing to the eye. (I probably do look strange, however, staring at an ad on the floor or intently looking at a can of soup!) Anyway, according to my design textbook, a good ad – not referring to a commercial – should be simple yet visually attractive enough to draw the viewer in, be informative yet direct, and leave some sort of impression on the viewer. Graphic designers accomplish these things by using a number of strategies, such as utilizing simple color pallets, sticking to one – maybe two – typefaces that play off one another, and using negative space to their advantage (everything behind the main object in the image). There are obviously 1,000 other ways to go about creating an effective ad, but these are just a few. Something else I’ve done to further my exploration into my project is download and play with photoshop apps. My favorite one so far is called ColorPop, and it enables you to take a picture, convert it to grey scale, and then go in and physically color certain objects in the image to make it pop – hence the name! It’s been really fun, as you can apply one of the strategies designers use in creating good ads: utilizing simple color pallets. It reminds me of the stories my grandma’s told me. She worked in a photography studio in the 40’s before she was married, and as color photography wasn’t invented yet, part of her job was to paint the black and white photos. That’s completely fascinating in my eyes! Anyway, I’ve also downloaded some different graphic design apps, and am looking forward to playing more with those. All these range from photo editors to creating logo designs to creating different typefaces (my personal favorite!) I say this because lettering is really an art form in itself. Take Helvetica for example. I watched a video on the development of Helvetica, and so much goes into it! Anyway, I hope everyone else is having a fun time doing their projects as well!

3 comments

  1. rebeccabargs · February 8, 2016

    It’s really something different to actually stop and look at things in a different way than you normally do. I might try this a bit. 🙂

    Like

    • joshuapilkington · February 8, 2016

      Do! You don’t usually think twice about half the things you look at, but it’s really fun when you do.

      Like

  2. Pelayom6 · February 16, 2016

    It is so true, when we actually take time to look at things, we can see it from a different perspective. I guess I should study a soup can carefully next time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

