Be Passionate

The two articles I chose to read, “Three Questions to Drive Passion Based Learning” by George Couros, and “25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom” by Saga Briggs, were really insightful. To start off, in the “Three Questions to Drive Passion Based Learning” article, two of the biggest takeaways for me were 1) we can gain a solid and in-depth understanding of anything after just 20 hours and 2) we need to get to the place where students are not just problem solvers, but problem finders. In terms of the first point, this is completely awesome in my opinion. Obviously, as the article states, we won’t be considered experts in any field after this little amount of time, but we’ll have gained enough understanding to have more than just the general gist of it. In terms of the second point, when I think of problem solving, I think of the math class I was enrolled in my freshman year of high school, ‘Math Theory and Problem Solving.” It was an interesting class, to say the least (I say this because I was only a freshman in Algebra 1 in a class with upperclassmen who were in AP Trig, AP Calc, and so on). Anyway, all throughout the class, we were taught how to, as the name of the class implies, how to go about solving problems. Yes it helped me in later classes as I was able to apply those new found problem solving math skills, but it would’ve been 10x cooler if we were more encouraged to find problems. For example, if we were encouraged to find real world problems, apply math to that, and come up with various possible solutions, it would’ve been more beneficial, in my opinion. (I hope this doesn’t sound too ridiculous to all the math people out there!) On the other hand, in regards to the “25 ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom” article, a couple of the best ideas presented, in my opinion, were 1) carving out times during the day in order to let students explore their passions, and 2) letting students take control of their own learning. Both of these things we’re obviously doing in this class, which is completely awesome, but in thinking about taking the time during the busy elementary/middle/high school day to let students pursue what they want to pursue, is a revolutionary idea in my mind. It’s something I’ve never been exposed to before, and I’m sure a lot of people can say the same, but I think it would only be beneficial to the students in both the short run and long run as well.

Link to “Three Questions To Drive Passion Based Learning” 

Link to “25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom” 

4 comments

  1. missboller · February 7, 2016

    I really enjoyed what you shared in your post! I am not so good at math but I think it has some to do with the teachers I had. Since I have been in college math is still hard but I enjoy learning how to solve problems only because I have teachers who believe in me that I am smart enough to solve the problems. I really liked the articles you chose to read!

    Like

  2. corinneelisecarlton · February 8, 2016

    I chose to read these two articles as well. I find that anymore it is just a given that we have to explore ways to gain interest from our students. We can do discovery and creative based learning as well as inquiry based learning. In other words finding way’s that explore our students different styles of learning, and including bringing about the idea of students own personal passions. When we learn their passions, we can tailor our class lessons on sharing our passions that include what they already know from their own passions!

    Like

    • joshuapilkington · February 15, 2016

      Most definitely! Could you imagine how engaging classes would be if we catered to each student’s individual learning style while incorporating their passions into lessons? That would be cool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

