A PLN is Pretty Cool

Well, after much Googling and according to teacherchallenge.edublogs.org, a PLN is a Personalized Learning Network, a network in which one connects with others, possibly experts in a certain curricular area, to learn and share relevant information. You and others use certain platforms in order to connect and share information, such as Twitter, and use whatever electronic devices you and others find suitable. Sounds cool, right? Well, it is. On the site I found and got all my information from, the site I linked above, there are a few videos you can watch to gain more understanding about PLNs, and why educators everywhere should have one. In one of the videos, for example, a teacher states that educators for hundreds of years have connected and collaborated, yet it is just recently, withing the past decade, that these educators can do so universally. The internet has opened up a whole new realm in terms of communication, and teachers the world over can connect, learn from one another, and share all kinds of cool information within seconds. (If you think about it, that really blows your mind). Now in terms of what I’ve done thus far in creating my own PLN and in choosing a shared topic, I’ve decided on children’s literature and have followed over 100 accounts and 10-ish blogs pertaining to the subject. It was a little difficult finding Twitter accounts pertaining just to children’s books overall, so I followed children’s authors and illustrators.

I chose children’s books as my focus because I took a children’s literature class a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. That being said, it was in this class that we discussed both good and bad authors and illustrators, and in going through the various lists of Twitter accounts, I found myself thinking how many of these authors/illustrators were highly respected and how many weren’t. This is where I’ll have to “fine-tune” who I’m following, and filter out the accounts I don’t feel are as good as the others. On top of that, there are literally thousands of authors and illustrators of children’s books the world over, and I’ll constantly be discovering new accounts to follow, accounts I feel would add to what I want to learn or what I feel relates well to m

6031963913_9abf0e92aa                                                                 Photo CC: By plaisanter~

4 comments

  1. sharinglovelife · February 15, 2016

    Could you imagine how much more difficult it was to establish connections just 10-15 years ago? We have instantaneous connections of our choosing at our fingertips. Lovin’ it.

    Like

    • joshuapilkington · February 15, 2016

      Seriously. It’s amazing how much the internet has literally exploded since then.

      Like

  2. corinneelisecarlton · February 15, 2016

    Wow! Children’s Literature sounds like such a fun class, I might have to look into that! I love the thought of PLN’s. It’s always been there, but it’s not something that you technically think about until you actually give it that Personal Learning Network title to it. I am finding out more information about teaching then I ever thought possible! I’m obsessed with finding new arts and craft projects for my class!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joshuapilkington · February 15, 2016

      Definitely! It was here at WNCC, but I think this was the professors last year. I don’t know who they’ll get to replace her though. And I know what you mean! It’s fun looking for ideas and resources that you could potentially use.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

